A little introduction and day four

tumblr_lya8bwGogV1r7m7bxo1_400I got the idea to blog from my husband.  I previously had a blog in college and just after, but I wanted to start over in a new space.  This is going to document my journey in getting healthy, and hopefully a little bit stronger and thinner too.

Just to get it all out there, the reason I’m starting this journey is because I currently weigh 200 pounds.  And I am embarrassed to even type that.  But here I am, putting it on the internet.  I was embarrassed for my husband to see the number of the scale the other day.  But he is extremely supportive, and I know he will be by my side every step of the way.  And I want this blog to be a documentation of sorts, a place that I can go to vent, celebrate, and track my progress.

Why “Excuses Can Wait”?  Because I am the queen of excuses.  I love food and I love to lounge.  Heck, I love to eat while lounging.  I love going out and trying new foods, I love eating with friends and family.  I love cookies.  I love Mexican food.  Food makes me feel better sometimes.  I make excuses all the time for why I can’t work out or make healthier food choices – and I probably don’t have to list them because you’ve heard them all before.

Why now?  Everyone and their mother is making New Years’ resolutions, but this is something that has been brewing in me for awhile.  I have noticed that the weight has slowly been creeping up for the past year.  D (the husband) and I got married this past August, and I have been gaining about 5 pounds a month since then.  Living with a dude makes it hard, because he eats just about anything he wants and barely gains a pound.  And the bacon.  Don’t even get me started on the bacon.  But like I said, no more excuses.  I realized two days ago on the elliptical trainer at the gym that I got this way because I made choices.  I made the choice to eat whatever the hell I wanted whenever I wanted, and to not exercise.  No one was standing in front of me, force-feeding me food.  No one was stopping me from putting on my tennis shoes and going for a walk.  So no more excuses, they can wait ’til tomorrow.

A little about me: I’ve been anywhere from severely underweight in high school (possibly more about that at a later time), to a healthy weight when I started college.  Then I gained the not-so-infamous “Sophomore 20” (but maybe that’s just me).  And it went on up from there.  Once I graduated and had no money because I worked retail, I lost all the college weight.  Oh, and I had time to exercise again!  Fast forward a few years, and I trained for and ran a half-marathon (which made me feel like superwoman and that I could conquer anything).  A couple of years after that, I started graduate school.  At the time, I was a (healthy for me) 160 pounds.  I loved going to the gym, and I wasn’t hyper-concerned about counting calories because I went to the gym (mostly cardio) and combined that with home workouts with weights 5-6 days a week.  Fast forward again, and I’m in my third year of graduate school, fifth month of marriage, and I am 40 pounds heavier.  Not something I am proud of at all.  But like I said, it is all because of the choices I have made, and the ones I haven’t made.

So, on Tuesday, January 1st, I started using My Fitness Pal again to start logging my food and exercise.  My first day back at the gym was the following day.  I may have pushed it a bit, but I worked out for an hour.  I felt pretty good during, but I was definitely feeling it a few hours later.  The next morning I told D, “I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck.”  But I got myself back to the gym again, and did another hour of cardio.  Today I put in “30 Day Shred” and felt like punching Jillian in the face.  It almost makes it harder knowing that I’ve been through the Shred before and rocked it (a couple of years ago now).  But today I was sweating and swearing and pausing occasionally through Phase 1, Day 1.  Maybe at some point I’ll be able to look back at this and laugh, but right now… not so much.

Today is day four of eating better.  I have a calorie goal and am trying my best to stick to it.  D and I took the rest of the Christmas cookies to my parents, and the holiday bon bons have been sent to D’s office.  There are still some treats around, but I have gone to the store and procured items that will hopefully keep me from raiding those.  However, today the scale and I are not friends.  I went up a couple of pounds.  I have to keep in mind that the weight didn’t arrive in a day (or a week), and it won’t (healthfully) come off in that time either.

At the moment, things are a bit easier to manage, because I am on holiday break, so I have more time and energy to prepare good food and to exercise.  The real challenge is going to come in about a week when I start my second internship, then classes begin a couple of weeks after that.  Which is another reason why I am beginning this now.  Hopefully I will be more on my way to healthier habits when all that starts up again.

So, excuses can wait until tomorrow.  And so can the “before” picture, because lord knows it was hard enough to type out my weight.

2 responses to “A little introduction and day four”

  1. ALittleBitGoofy says :

    Hi there! Thanks for following my blog. Just read through yours, and it looks like you are off to a great start. I’m personally, starting over, as 2012 was a hell of a year for me. I’d love to follow along with you on your journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

