Today it feels like my upper body was stretched out all night.  Jillian seems to know what she’s doing with her shredding-ness.  So now my entire body is sore, except my abs.  We may have to change that today.

For breakfast I’ve been into eating steel cut oats, with almond milk, and blueberries.  Microwave the oats and milk for three minutes, stir it up and then add the blueberries.  I use the frozen kind because they last longer than fresh, and when you stir them into the warm oats, they lose their frostiness.  As a self-proclaimed cold cereal addict, it has been a bit of a challenge to switch over.  But the oats have less sugar and now they seem to fill me up longer.  When I first started eating them, I felt my stomach growling after about two hours.  Now though my body seems to have adapted.  And I feel better eating them- like I’m not getting a sugar spike.

Image

 

Tasty!

And I’ve also started to use agave syrup instead of the Splenda.  It says that agave has a lower glycemic index, which seems like a positive thing to me.  As a sugar-addicted person (homemade chocolate chip cookies are my weakness), I realized that after the holidays I felt like I had a perma-headache for days.  I felt like I was in a fog, had zero energy, and just felt generally sluggish.  I am going to guess I had a sugar hangover.  Hence, agave!

Image

D opened the fridge last night and commented, “We sure have a lot of healthy stuff in here!”  I’m trying.  I feel better when I eat this way, and I think he will too (hope he will).  But then he proceeded to make the chocolate chip cookies that his bro gave us the dry ingredients for as a Christmas present.  He offered to give me a very small bite, but I said that if I even taste it, I will want more.  At least at this point I want to stick with less refined sugar as much as possible.

Another tasty snack I’ve been into is zucchini.  I put it in a pan with a little bit of olive oil and then use Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning.  Yum.

Image

 

And since I figured out how to get photos in here a little better, here’s the dinner from last night. Sprinkled with chopped pistachios.  The meatballs were a bit tough, I think I cooked them for too long.  We might try it with beef at another point.  

Image

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

