sometimes my trouble gets so thick/I can’t see how I’m gonna get through it

A friend of mine told me that Trader Joe’s sells rosemary almonds.  On my trip to the store yesterday, I looked for them high and low, but alas, they eluded me.  I decided to try to make some myself, since we have a rosemary bush and almonds, and the recipe I found online was super simple.  However, the recipe said to leave them in the oven for 20 minutes.  And I ended up with very burnt almonds.  Sad day.  I’ll try again at another point.

It rained last night, and I didn’t particularly relish the thought of wading through the mud and horse poop on my morning walk, so I opted out.  This morning I went to the gym to try Pilates.  I have done Pilates before, both at the gym and with a home video, and my core generally tells me about it for a few days afterward.  I was kind of craving a good core exercise.  And I planned to stay for yoga afterward (same instructor).  Well, the session was a half hour, and I should’ve known by the way the instructor was just calling out positions at the very beginning of class without showing them that I was in trouble… I also couldn’t find my yoga mat.  Usually it’s in the trunk of my car, but it’s nowhere to be found.  Curious.  So I used one of the torn up ones at the gym.  I basically sweated and grunted my way through the class.  It also hurt my knees quite a bit (during the on-your-knees exercises)- from all the weight I put on them I’m assuming.  I am also pretty sure that I didn’t complete even one move correctly.  Except maybe the side plank move, which I’ve done a bunch of in the past so I knew what to do.  At the end I swore I’d never return, but we all know what happens when we say “never”.  I also decided to pass on the yoga session… maybe with a different instructor.  Live and learn.

I moved onto the elliptical, which is a good friend of mine.  And I merrily sweated away an hour on there.

Came home, cooked up a couple of turkey burgers (sans bun) and the leftover squash.  I put a slice of pepper jack cheese on one of the burgers (oh.my.gosh. deliciousness).  

Then, I tried to study for the comps.  I cannot wait until this test is all over in 16 days.  Well, there’s a lot to review between now and then, but I am looking forward to the pressure being off a bit.

And, in the interest of full disclosure, somewhere in there, I took a nap.  Then I woke up and had a string cheese and sliced fuji apple snack.

2 responses to “sometimes my trouble gets so thick/I can’t see how I’m gonna get through it”

  1. Casie says :

    Sounds like you had a productive day though 🙂

Leave a Reply

