I am finding that titles are not my strong suit.

I know it’s going to take some time to get used to my internship and figuring out what types of food to take.  And figuring out when I can sneak a snack in.  One of the good things is that my internship site has a fridge.  I know, right?  My other one last semester didn’t.  One of the bad things is that every single time I have to use the restroom, I need to ask someone for the key.  Really?

I didn’t work out.  I had packed my gym bag and an extra snack, with every intention of going.  Until the end of the day came, and everyone was like “Hey! Let’s go to happy hour!”  Since I’m new, I felt like it would give me an opportunity to get to know the folks I’ll be working with for the next few months.  So I went.  And I had a beer.  And some bread.  And a bunch of cheese.

Then I came home and felt totally terrible.  I got a migraine and was generally in a bad mood.  And I headed to bed at around 8 p.m.  And slept the entire night, after I took some pain meds.  Poor hubby.

So, I think the moral of the story is that when I’m eating well and then I eat poorly, I feel terrible.  I know, I know, it’s not rocket science or anything, but it was well-established last night.  I have been trying to weigh myself everyday to get a feel for fluctuations.  I have had a long love/hate relationship history with the scale, so this is a bit of a challenge for me.  I was pretty sure I gained 2 pounds last night, but it was like .4, so I felt a bit of a weight taken off 🙂

This morning, I decided “It’s a new day!” and went ahead with my steel cut oats and fixings, and while D was off getting a haircut, I put in a little Bob Harper “Pure Burn, Super Strength”.  I’ve done it about 4 – 5 times now, I think, and I am definitely feeling stronger.  The (knee) push-ups aren’t as hard as they were at the beginning, and I’m even able to add the “little jump” at certain points.

I had a really awesome post-workout homemade smoothie with protein powder, a banana, a little honey, some oats, and almond milk.  Delish!  Had lunch a few hours later, after I got some more studying in.  Now, we are making balsamic glazed chicken with mushrooms and zucchini.

Leave a Reply

