Cuban food, hippie store, and new hairs

On Tuesday, I met up with someone that worked at the school I interned at last semester.  We met for Cuban food!  And to be honest, a cupcake.  It was a delicious vanilla coconut cupcake!  But I didn’t get a pic.  Of either the food or the cupcake.  However, while I was waiting for my friend, I grabbed some iced coffee:

already downed it!

already downed it!

A victory, however, because what I was really eyeing while in line was a delicious soy chai.  However, I had the forethought to consider that there might be other treats in store for the day, and I wasn’t sure if the gym was in my future.  So a success on that front.  However, I could not say no to the coconut cupcake.  What can I say?  I’m addicted to coconut this summer.

That night as I considered what to make for dinner, I realized that I had some lemons that had been hanging around for a while.  And of course, our little basil plant (ok, it’s getting big, but whatever).  So I threw some chicken breasts on the top of the stove (in a pan), and drizzled (alright I actually squeezed a lemon and a half onto them – when all was said and done), and once they were done put some basil on them to make them look fancy and whatnot.

lemon basil chicken

 

Ooooh girl, you fancy!

 

While the chicken was cooking in its coconut oil and lemony goodness, I checked for vegetables.  And somehow in the last few months, this happened:

SO MUCH BROCCOLI!

SO MUCH BROCCOLI!

When I saw that, I posted on Instagram: “Who am I, and how did I get this much broccoli in my freezer?”  So I attempted to be an adult and steam an entire bag on top of the stove.  However, I ended up burning the pan.  Who does that?  I ended up putting it all in the microwave to finish it off.  Thankfully no more burning occurred in the making of this dinner.

The moral of the story: no more stove-top steaming for this lady.  (For awhile, at least)

However, while we were eating, and I was cutting up my chicken, I look over, and D is finished with his food and munching on a Snickers bar.  Really?!  I asked if he even ate any vegetables.  He said he would eat them after.  Riiiiiight….

(To be honest, I think that is the first time I have ever seen my husband eat a full size candy bar).

Yesterday, before my hair appointment, I did a short workout circuit at home, using these bad boys:

heck yes!

Heck yes!

Mostly I did a bunch of leg lifts… and some biceps and triceps.

So if you recall, I went to get my hairs cut and highlighted (remember, I wanted to look like J-Lo… later I decided I wanted to look like Jennifer Aniston).  While that didn’t happen (surprise, surprise), after my appointment I did find a fun new store that made me feel like a hippie.  So while I was there, I got some cereal that D was sure to not touch:

D, don't touch!

D, don’t touch!

The ironic thing, is when he got home, he noticed it right away.  “I bet that tastes like cardboard!”  And then he tasted it, and said “Yup, pretty much!”  So I was wrong.  But I bet you he won’t be touching it again!

To be honest, it tastes better with a little bit of a topping.  Remember the packet of heaven/almond butter that I posted the other day?  Yup, I found this at the hippie store…

 

all things lovely and beautiful...
all things lovely and beautiful…

Yeah, I scooped a tablespoon of that goodness onto my cereal and topped it with some almond milk.  I may have had some more on my toast this morning.  Remind me to tell you about the delicious bread I’ve discovered sometime.

You might be disappointed that I didn’t take a pic of myself underneath those hair dryer things for the first time, but let me tell you, I did feel like I was trying to “phone home”.

During my appointment I tried to be scholarly and start “Beowulf,” because I feel like a failure of a history major for not having read it before.  However, I haven’t even made it through the introduction yet.  That shizz is DENSE.

I think my history major card is going to be revoked for that paragraph.

In other news,

CHICKENSSSSSSSS!

CHICKENSSSSSSSS!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

