Stand-up paddle boarding (SUP)

Yesterday I went stand-up paddle boarding for the first time.  A friend took me, and it was really fun!

However, after awhile, I started to feel a bit seasick, which seemed weird to me, but my friend said she has heard others have mentioned that as well.  Definitely going to get some seasick meds before leaving for vacation!

And I TOTALLY SAW A SHARK!

Like in the water, beneath us.  Granted it was a bottom-feeder and not at all interested in eating us, but still.  It was the first time I’ve ever seen one while in the water, so it was kind of a big deal.

The first time I fell off the board, I started kind of freaking out and immediately wanted to get back onto the board.  My friend came over and helped me, but told me that it was important to stay calm.

The second time I fell, I did a little less freaking out, but was still kind of scared.

I never actually stood up, mostly because it was afternoon and the wind was picking up the longer we were out there, and the whole starting to feel seasick thing.  But being on my knees gave me an idea of how challenging that will be.

I got to the point where I just said “OK I’m done for the day,” and my friend was gracious enough to let me take a pass and get out 🙂

Holy cow.  When we exited the water, I could BARELY stand.  My legs were like jelly.  I haven’t felt that way in a really long time.  I had to sit down (both to recover my land legs and to get my head to stop sloshing).

No on-the-water pics because I don’t have a waterproof camera.

Status of legs today: sore in the quads.  Arms, also a bit sore (both biceps and triceps).  Awesome!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

